Writing Wednesday: First Novels

Hi there, ho there! Welcome back to Writing Wednesday.

giphy

Yes, that’s how books make me feel.

I’ve been thinking about first novels and how rare it is that an author’s first is the novel people remember or hold up as their best, or even one of their best. Rummaging through my book collection and brain, I made a mental list of the authors of my favorite books and then tried to remember what their first novels were, and…

giphy-1

Yeah…kinda hard. I just finished reading Neverwhere, Neil Gaiman’s first (solo) novel. Putting that story beside his most recent work is almost like looking at the work of two different authors. Of course Neverwhere has certain elements that you can’t not recognize as Gaimanisms — like his penchant for dry humor, magic, and strangeness — but on the whole it’s quite different from, say, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, or the stories in his collection Trigger Warning in that his confidence and comfort in his role as a teller of stories is powerfully evident now (which makes a lotta sense). In his later works, everything flows. He’s not working as hard anymore to draw you in because it’s unnecessary; you fall in gladly. At least, I do. It’s like slipping into a warm bath. Neverwhere is still a noted work, but not the novel I usually hear referenced when people talk about Gaiman. American Gods, his third novel, is the one I’ve heard people cite most often as their favorite. After that, it’s either Stardust or Coraline. But never Neverwhere.

This is pretty common. An author’s debut intrigues readers enough to make them want more. As their career progresses, their writing gets stronger, they come into their own and start churning out their best work. (Just as an aside, this is one of my favorite things about writing as a career: unlike being a professional athlete or a neurosurgeon, age typically makes you a better writer.)

giphy.gif

However, there are a few anomalous authors whose first novels are frequently brought up as favorites or one of their best. Two examples I (eventually) thought of are Donna Tartt, whose first novel was The Secret History, and Stephen King, whose first novel was Carrie. What’s great about these two in my opinion is that each author exists at the opposite end of the writing spectrum. The first has an established pattern of publishing a novel approximately once a decade (she’s published short stories and non-fiction stuff in between), while the latter is regularly counted among the most prolific authors writing today. The Secret History and Carrie are both beloved by fans of these authors. The film adaptation of Carrie probably had a hand in maintaining people’s love for that story, but it’s far from a forgotten debut left to gather dust on bookshelves.

Some debuts are brilliant, but completely eclipsed by the success of later novels, like Brett Easton Ellis’s Less Than Zero (which I wrote a bit about here). This is a novel I would never read again — it was that intense for me — but I would recommend that everyone (who can handle it) read it. Of course American Psycho is what you immediately think of when you hear the name Brett Easton Ellis — the friends I mentioned Less Than Zero to after I read it hadn’t even heard of it — in fact, all of his other books mostly fell through the cracks for me until I made a point of looking them all up and reading a few. Makes me wonder just how many amazing novels I’ve overlooked. Then again, there’s so much out there to read that we can probably all forgive ourselves for missing the memo on some of them.

giphy-3

What are some of your favorite first novels? What’s the worst you’ve ever read?

Happy Wednesday!

13 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: First Novels

    • Don’t feel terrible, Chiara! I think it’s normal for people to either not read an author’s first novel at all (unless it’s some big breakout hit), or to go back to it once they’ve read an author’s more recent & popular novels. I don’t think it has anything to do with how much a person reads. You might read a lot, but never get around to an author’s first book!

      Like

  1. I’m going to bring down the whole tone of this affair by mentioning television. Ever loved a tv show, watched a lot of it, then at some point later on settled down and rewatched the pilot episode and CRINGED? The characters are a little off, it doesn’t quite flow as well. That’s kind of the same. And trying to think of a first novel I’ve read is turning out to be a real mind f*ck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yes, and yes. A lot of first novels fade to dust in people’s minds b/c they don’t hold up over time, just like those pilot episodes. I hate when that happens (with books AND TV). Makes me wonder what it was about the thing that made me hang in there and keep watching/reading.

      Like

  2. hmmmmm i can’t really think of any, i *think* the time traveler’s wife was audrey whatserfaces first book and it was amazing, and the second one was absolutely awful and i hope she never writes another book haha. i haven’t read neverwhere but i’ve read a couple other gaiman books (stardust, ocean at the end of the lane and…… the graveyard one?) and loved them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha. I never read The Time Traveler’s Wife! I’ve heard it was good. I have that second book though. I remember I started reading it and just couldn’t get through it. I guess unlike Audrey Mynameisthisclosetobeingaracialslur, Gaiman got better with time!

      Like

  3. A very cool post! I never really thought about any of this. Recently since I’ve been signed up to NetGalley I’ve been reading loads of first time novels and it’s so interesting. I can see great things and less great. As a writer, I feel I’m really learning! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I love reading first novels! Especially the ones coming out now. It’s helpful to see what decisions each writer chooses to make, hear them read & talk about their work. I feel like I’m learning a lot from it, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

