Writing Wednesday: the beginning of the end.

Hey, everybody! Guess what? Today’s mah birfdae!!!

giphy

It’s the first day of my last year as a twenty-something.

giphy

I’m not sure how to feel about that. Of course I’m thrilled to have lived long enough to type this. Being around to see what the world has become so far is pretty cool (and sometimes frustrating as hell). On the other hand, I really thought I’d feel more like an adult by now. And I do sometimes. Whenever I clean my flat, or de-ice my freezer, or pay my bills I think to myself, “Hey, that was kind of grown-up, right?” Then I sit in front of my computer and laugh uncontrollably at my favorite cartoons, or squeal with glee because I opened a blind box and got the toy I wanted and I think “Yeah…you’re more like Tom Hanks in Big. Better luck next year.” I’ve had this discussion with different people and many agree that “adulthood” is really just how old you are, not how you feel inside. You’re always going to feel like you. So it’s just par for the course that high school feels like something that just ended last year (and on some horrible mornings, like a thing that hasn’t ended yet). I’m still me. An almost thirty-year-old me (gasp!), but me nonetheless.

My mom is here visiting (YAY!) and today I have set her the task of coming up with a surprise plan for my actual birthday, then on Friday we’re going to do some stuff I’ve chosen. We’re operating around my work schedule while she’s here — doing stuff in the mornings and afternoons, then I go to work in the evenings. I’m trying not to feel like a walking corpse, hahaha. It shouldn’t be a problem today, though. Today I just feel good. 🙂

So here is a present for you! A list of books I’ve loved and reread and wanted to live in while weirding it up here on Earth for the last 29 years. Some of these I have talked about here before. I was going to link those books to past posts and give you a short description of why the other books are important to me, but yesterday I got halfway through writing this post and it disappeared while I was writing it. So now I don’t feel up to making the attempt again in case the universe decides it’s not done pranking me yet. I’ll just give you the titles (I’ll come back and add the authors a bit later), and if you check them out, maybe they’ll become important to you, too. Enjoy.

  1. Lucky Puppy (Disney)
  2. Matilda (Roald Dahl)
  3. James and the Giant Peach (Roald Dahl)
  4. The Stinky Cheese Man and other Fairly Stupid Tales (Jon Scieszka)
  5. The Time Warp Trio series (Jon Scieszka)
  6. The Secret Knowledge of Grown-Ups (David Wisniewski)
  7. The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (AVI)
  8. Dealing with Dragons (Patricia C. Wrede)
  9. The Giver (Lois Lowry)
  10. The Phantom Tollbooth (Norton Juster)
  11. The Brothers Karamazov (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
  12. Heart of Darkness (Joseph Conrad)
  13. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
  14. The Vampire Lestat (Anne Rice)
  15. The Sandman series (Neil Gaiman)
  16. Crime & Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
  17. Pride & Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  18. IT (Stephen King)
  19. Needful Things (Stephen King)
  20. The Green Mile (Stephen King)
  21. Going to Meet the Man (James Baldwin)
  22. Tekkonkinkreet (Taiyo Matsumoto)
  23. Andrew’s Brain (E.L. Doctorow)
  24. Busy Monsters (William Giraldi)
  25. TTYL (the Internet Girls series) (Lauren Myracle)
  26. 13 Reasons Why (Jay Asher)
  27. Beasts (Joyce Carol Oates)
  28. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Karen Joy Fowler)
  29. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking (Susan Cain)

Have you gotten lost in any of these books? What are your thoughts on adulthood?

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday: the beginning of the end.

  1. happy belated birthday!! i am halfway through my last year as a 20 something… 30 soon! eep. Matilda! oh what a favourite. and of course pride & prejudice. sigh.
    i agree about adulthood – you’re always gonna feel like you. i pay bills and i don’t overdraw my account so i feel super adulty. but i don’t want to de-ice my freezer so i’m just gonna ignore that. haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kristen! P&P 4ever. De-ice that freezer, girl. You’ll feel like effin Wonder Woman afterwards, I’m telling you. I think I’m gonna end up being that random old lady who dresses like Betsey Johnson and who people cross the street to avoid lol.

      Like

  2. Happy belated birthday, beautiful! Adulting is just the term we have for the time of life when a shedload of responsibility is foisted upon you while you’re still busy trying to eat ice cream and avoid putting on pants.

    I don’t know if anyone truly feels like an “adult” and if they do I don’t really want to meet them…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Frankie-stein! Adulting is weird. I don’t know that I like it. I get so cranky when there’s a thing that I HAVE to do. It’s just like UGH whyyyyy. Then I think “Geez, you are SUCH a friggin baby. Grow up.” But I doubt I ever will. Silliness ftw. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

