G is for the Gregorian Calendar

Hey, hey, hey!

**A couple of gifs are absent from this post bc WordPress and the interwebz hate me. Check back later for the missing goods.**

So, OK… Leap Day was yesterday but I still wanna talk about it because it fascinates me. I’d always wondered why the day even exists. Apparently the appearance of this mysterious day in February is down to a disparity between the Gregorian calendar (365 days) and the amount of time it actually takes for the Sun to orbit the Earth (365.2422 days). The extra day is added (almost) every four years to make up the extra time the Gregorian calendar doesn’t account for (I read a Telegraph article that explains the exception as years that are “both divisible by 100 and not divisible by 400”).

giphy-1

So people born on February 29th don’t get to celebrate their birthdays on the actual day every year 😦 BUT they can reasonably get away with claiming to be much younger than they actually are (win).

There’s also the whole ladies proposing to men tradition on Leap Day.Β This, I kinda have a problem with b/c it’s like “Oh, hey — it’s Feb. 29, so it’s OK.” Gee, thanks for the crumb 😑 I say, if you want to propose to your guy, do it! Eff what day it is.

giphy-4

I’m not familiar with many of the famous “leapers” or people born on Leap Day. The person I immediately think of when I think of Feb 29 birthdays doesn’t even really exist.

giphy-5

It makes complete sense that Jerry Gergich (from Parks and Recreation), a guy who drew the short straw in almost every aspect of life, would be born on a day that only comes roughly once every four years.

Do you know any interesting Leap Year trivia? I know I could just Google it, but asking is more fun.

Happy not-Leap-Day!

6 thoughts on “G is for the Gregorian Calendar

  1. hahaha I like the idea of a tradition about proposing on the 29th Feb, but yes I agree if you wanna propose to your man do it whenever you feel like it πŸ˜€

    Like

    • I agree — traditions can be lovely. But when I was reading up on it, the story that kept cropping up was that St. Bridget complained that women had to wait too long for their guys to propose to them, so St. Patrick granted women the chance to propose themselves every four years on leap day. Another one said something about the day not being legally recognized in England at one time, therefore proposals by women were able to slip through the cracks on that day. I guess I don’t like the idea of it ONLY being okay in such a unique circumstance. I know some people still find the idea strange, but I say if you know he’s the one, go for it! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. See, I was always of the opinion that a leap day birthday would be fun because it’s somehow more special. Like, it’s another thing to make you unique and different to everyone else with their regular “happening every year birthdays”. As for trivia, apparently the rules change depending on what country you are in as to whether your birthday is legally counted as the 28 Feb or 1 March in years that don’t have a leap year. For example, if you can legally start drinking at age 18, in New Zealand you can start on the 28th of Feb, but in the UK you need to wait until the 1st of March πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

