F is for FINALLY.

So remember when I did that post about life resolutions? I’ve been making progress on them and I’m feeling pretty good about it! Really, these are things I probably shouldn’t pat myself on the back for because it just means I’m being a grownup for once and taking responsibility for myself and blah, blah, blah. But you gotta start somewhere, right?!

I’m officially halfway through writing my novel!
giphy

It feels SO GOOD to say I’m halfway through this thing. Muuuuch better than saying I’m almost halfway through it. I’ve learned a lot along the way. Primarily that you’ve gotta work at your own pace (and silence those evil voices in your head that mock you for not having accomplished as much as so-and-so with the ridiculous 5 million dollar advance for their first book at the ripe old age of 19). That voice is a liar. You can only ever work at your own pace. You can only ever do what’s right for you; if you don’t, things have a much slimmer chance of working out the way you want them to. I’m learning to be OK with how I work, with what I actually want to do with my life, and with the way those two things take shape together. This is the first big step (after a bazillion smaller ones) in making my career what I want it to be, and I am making real progress on this effing monstrosity. When it’s all done, we’re gonna have the biggest party ever. Yes I said “we.” You’d better come. And bring booze.

I’ve been working out consistently!
giphy-2

I bit the bullet and got a gym membership and I’ve been working out every other day! I recently watched a vlog where someone mentioned how weird it is that they hate the idea of going to the gym, but love how they feel once they’re done working out. That’s exactly where I’m at. I hate EVERYTHING when I’m on my way there, and curse myself for even getting out of bed because what difference will it actually make?! Then I go in there and rock shit like I never thought I could, and walk out like I won the lottery. It’s amazing. And weird. I’m stilllll getting the hang of this healthy eating biz… but baby steps, y’all!

I’m saving money!
giphy-3

I bought a little heart-shaped bank from Tiger, one of my favorite UK stores ever (like a much smaller Ikea, minus the furniture). Whenever I have any change (including pound coins), it goes into the bank (which is kinda inconvenient when I need change but…eh). I’ve also drawn up a weekly budget for myself and am doing a (mostly) OK job so far of sticking to it! Again, baby steps. But the progress is visible.

I got my hair done!
giphy-4

You’re probably looking at the screen like “Huh?” but trust me…it’s a big deal. I started my dreads in the fall of 2012 and have been maintaining them myself since then. It’s not hard to do, but it is time consuming. And with how annoying it can be to get your hands all mucked up with wax/hair grease stabbing yourself in the head with 1000 metal clips, and no access to a sit-under hair dryer, I’ve just been putting it off and putting it off (and looking crazier and crazier). Yesterday was the first time someone else has taken care of my locs for me — using a method called “interlocking” which is like crocheting your hair, and which I’d never heard of before. And apparently what they did at the salon = me not having to touch my hair again for months, which is amazeballs! Freedooommmmm!!!

What progress have you been making lately?

Happy Monday!

10 thoughts on “F is for FINALLY.

  1. yay to all the things! high five girl that is awesome, all of it, seriously. and i feel you on the gym. most of the time i don’t want to do anything, but when i get there i feel awesome. alternatively, i go there feeling awesome and then don’t want to do anything when i actually get there haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

