A is for…

Hey, hey, hey, everybody πŸ™‚

I’ve been taking a break to do thesis things and get my life together a little. How have you been?

I thought I’d try something new…again. This time, I’m going to go through the alphabet and do one blog post per letter. I won’t be doing this every single day. More like every other day. I’ll be writing about everything — food, books, things to do in London — all the things you’d normally see here anyway, just in a different format. And once we get to Z, well… who knows?

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. We’ll start at the beginning.

A is for Acton.

20150205_180819

One of the first photos I took after moving here.

This month marks my one year anniversary of living in London! I moved to England at the end of September 2014, but didn’t move to London until February 2015. Even though I’d been living in England for a few months by the time I moved, I hadn’t done enough exploring to figure out where I really wanted to live. The flat I found in Acton was the cheapest I could get at the time (or so I thought) without a roommate that still put me relatively close to the London action. I had nowhere else to stay and no more time to look, so I moved in here.

Acton is in Zone 3, next door to Shepherd’s Bush (Zone 2) where there’s a Westfield mall, a Vue cinema, and a number of restaurants, shops, and concert venues. Shepherd’s Bush also has two tube stations (Circle and Hammersmith & City, and Central lines) and an overground station (National Rail services will resume there soon, too) all within walking distance of each other. Acton itself has two overground stations (South Acton and Acton Central), Acton Town tube station on the Piccadilly line (which is quite close to Heathrow airport), and North, East, & West Acton tube stations on the Central line. Not to mention the various buses that run through here.

In truth, it’s not the most exciting place, and I’ve since discovered which boroughs would actually be ideal for me. But in the meantime, I’ve got easy access to Chiswick, which is lovely and villagey, Richmond which is pleasant, clean, and has a bunch of my favorite shops, and transport links into central London and all it has to offer.

Not too shabby.

There’s also a great artisan wine shop with a wine bar only steps away (both owned by the same super nice couple), and pubs scattered all over with some pretty great deals. There’s one nearby that’s got pints for Β£2.50! (Once you’ve been to a few pubs in London, you start to realize what a rare blessing a cheap pint is.)

giphy

For the non-boozers, there’s a cute little park beside Acton Central Overground, fitness centers, and plenty of sidewalks to stroll/ride along. In other words, there’s something for just about everybody. And like I said, whatever isn’t here can surely be found in Shepherd’s Bush or Chiswick.

I’m counting on freedom starting today or tomorrow, which means I’ll actually be able to go out and do things in the city again. I’ve also gotten started on a couple of those life resolutions of mine. I’ll let you know what kind of progress I make πŸ™‚

Happy Monday!

8 thoughts on “A is for…

  1. That year has gone quickly! It’s really hard to know what London is like when you first come here, and the prices really do make a difference. (That is the only reason I live where I do at the moment.). But as you say, you are close to some decent places. X

    Like

    • The year really has flown by! It’s crazy. Sometimes I have to remind myself that there’s a silver lining to being in this area, though it’s not my favorite. It could definitely be worse, and I’m glad it’s relatively easy to get to the areas I love most. I also try to remember that this is an expensive place to live and there are probably plenty of people who’d live in different areas of the city if they could afford to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

