Will you still need me/Will you still feed me/When I’m…halfway ’round the world?

Tr- Tr- Tr- Travel Thursday, y’all!

giphy

After reading lots of travel blogs and talking to other expats, I’m about 98.7% sure that the hardest thing about being an expat for me is also the hardest thing about it for pretty much everyone else: Missing friends and family.

giphy-1

Luckily, technology has moved light years ahead in just the last few years, not to mention the last decade or so. Now, we’ve got Skype, Facetime, WhatsApp, and a bunch of social media platforms to use to show people how we’re doing and what we’ve been up to. But if being back in the US for a couple of weeks revealed nothing else, it made clear how much better it is to be in the same room with the ones you love. Watching movies, eating out, discussing the mysteries of the universe — it’s so much more fun to do these things with a living human instead of a head on a screen.

giphy-2

A great thing about moving abroad is that it really shows you how much you mean to the people you left. Whenever I move, I’m consistently visited by the same people. I know that no matter where I am in the world, my mom, my mom’s parents, and certain friends will come see me. If they don’t visit, they’ll keep in touch regularly. I’ve gotten letters, greeting cards, emails, Skype messages, and the like to let me know they’re thinking of me — and I do the same for them. If you want to whittle your social circle down, move abroad. You’ll figure out very quickly who your nearest and dearest are. (This is of course excluding folks who would write/see you if they could, but for important reasons, cannot.)

Another amazing thing about moving abroad? Coming home for a visit! There is absolutely NOTHING like arriving at the airport and seeing someone you love waiting for you.
giphy-3

And when you’re in the car staring out the window, you get to see what’s changed since you’ve been gone and what’s stayed the same.

giphy-4

Going home for the holidays is particularly special. I won’t get to be with my mom for Christmas, so we had Thanksmas instead. I also brought along gifts for a couple of friends, too. I felt alllll the warm fuzzies when they unwrapped their gifts and loved them b/c it meant that, although we haven’t hung out regularly since I moved, I still know them well enough to give them something they’ll love πŸ™‚

I’m super grateful for the people who take time out of life to let me know I haven’t lost my spot in their hearts despite being so far away. In fact, I think I’ll go hop on Skype… πŸ˜€

Happy Thursday, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Will you still need me/Will you still feed me/When I’m…halfway ’round the world?

  1. I enjoy reading your blog and more so when I saw that you are from NC as am I. I know what you mean about coming home and seeing changes. I am deaf and was sent to a school for the deaf when I was 13 after having attended public school. I could only come home at Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, and summers. I remember the first time I came home for a visit. I saw that my mom had gotten a new glass green pitcher. It is weird that I felt like changes had passed me by and I was left behind because I did not know that she had bought a new pitcher. For the next 45 years going to colleges and getting a job in N.J. in a deaf environment, I only came home for visits. I retired in 2010 and moved back home. I have changed so much I don’t feel like I belong anymore but I am so much happier being back in the hearing public again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

