Getting back into a story.

If you were here yesterday, you saw the tragic gif starring Leonardo DiCaprio that represented my lazy torment over getting back to blogging after a break. But it’s not just that! When I went to the US for Thanksgiving, I took a break from creative writing, too. Now I’m back. And I have to start again.

giphy

I know, Leo, I know. It hurts.

It can be tough getting back into a story once you’ve left it for a while. Sometimes it may even be hard to resume a story you’ve only left for a couple of days. Now that I need to start my brain back up again, I’ve been kicking around some ideas on how to do that. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

1. Whenever you aren’t writing, think about what you should be writing.
giphy-1

Even if you’re not putting pen to paper/finger to keyboard, nothing’s stopping you from inhabiting the world you created. Go over scenes in your head (the ones you’ve already written and the ones you haven’t yet). Take an imaginary tour through a character’s living room or bedroom. Ask yourself about the relevance of that big explosion in chapter 10, or if Megan’s aunt should reeeaaallly be the one to reveal that her niece is actually one of a set of sextuplets who were each adopted by somebody different. You don’t necessarily have to be writing to be productive.

2. Set the mood.
giphy-3

Listen to a song that reminds you of your protagonist, or a particular moment in your story. Read work that uses narrative techniques you’ve been wanting to try out. Watch a movie in the same genre as what you’re writing. Basically, put yourself in the right frame of mind so that, as soon as you sit down to write, you’re where you need to be mentally & emotionally.

3. Take a theme bath.
giphy-5

This is kinda cheating b/c it’s similar to #2, but slightly more specific. Get your hands on work that handles the same themes you’re working with. See how those authors tackled it, and think about why they chose that method over another. You might get new ideas about where to take your own work.

4. Dive in!
giphy-6

You can always just go in cold and see what happens!

Do you guys have any ideas on how to get back into writing after taking a break? Any and all suggestions are welcome.

giphy-7

 

4 thoughts on “Getting back into a story.

  1. haha it’s always so hard to get back into it! As you know I did NaNoWriMo and it’s the most intense I’ve ever been into writing a story and into a world, I’d go to sleep at night dreaming of my characters haha…I wanted to continue the word count to get to 80K by NYE but I’m not sure I have the strength to keep going so hard…I’ve taken a break for 5 days now and I’m already so disconnected πŸ˜₯

    Like

Leave a Reply

