The Perfect Day for Murder

It’s Friday the 13th.
giphy-2

And I’ve got just the thing for it. When I find a show I really like, I’ll binge-watch. Right now, I’m working on a show that first aired 18 years ago, called Midsomer Murders.

It follows a Detective Chief Inspector named Tom Barnaby who, with the help of his Sergeant Gavin Troy, solves grisly murders in small English villages in the (fictional) county of Midsomer. I’m only on Series 4 at the moment, but apparently John Nettles (who played DCI Barnaby) is only on for 13 (BOOO!!!) and the actor who plays Troy is on for even fewer than that! πŸ˜₯

Generally (at least in the episodes I’ve seen so far), the villages where the murders take place are affluent, as are many of the people involved (not ALL of them of course — there’ve gotta be haves and have-nots for the sake of tension). Despite dealing with some real jerks, Barnaby never loses his cool. He’s clever, honest, funny, observant, fair, and kind — but gets tough when people try to push him around. And even though I’d love it if he did sometimes (b/c some of those people deserve it), he doesn’t run around punching people in the face. He’s low-key, but he always gets his man (or woman as the case may be). He’s my new favorite TV detective (sorry Sherlock).

Ever watched Midsomer Murders? What shows are keeping you glued to the screen lately?

Sorry about the erratic posting this week.

Have a great weekend!

9 thoughts on “The Perfect Day for Murder

  1. Ah, I love Midsomer Murders! You have to take a trip to the Oxfordshire area to get a real feel for this type of village, although I’m not sure the number of murders is true to life!

    Like

  2. John makes fun of me because I love this show so much. Despite being about murders, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside; it’s so English!! It’s the countryside!! Even the murder methods are so … English! Also: IT’S SO LONG. You can really hunker down under a blanket and watch it for hours. Literally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

