Treat Yoself: Uppity Crisps

I recently saw something on Buzzfeed about 24 of the most “middle-class” crisps you can buy. The post is full of instagrammed potato chips in… interesting flavors. The funniest ones to me are the pics accompanied by captions that first complain about how pretentious the crisps are…then admit that they actually taste pretty good.

giphy

I’ve gotta say, most of them had me on the edge of hanger.

Most appealing:
M&S brand Winter Berries & Prosecco flavor

Bubbles? Berries? Salty & sweet? What’s not to like? (There are even edible gold stars on them XD )

Tyrrell’s Lemon Cupcake flavored “Poshcorn”

There’s already caramel popcorn, chocolate drizzled popcorn…heck, plenty of cinema-goers mix candies in with their popcorn like it’s nothing. So why not combine popcorn with one of the best foods in the world — cake? Let’s all have a sleepover, wear our hair in ponytails, and eat this stuff forever. (And yeah, I know popcorn doesn’t count as a crisp, but it was on Buzzfeed’s list, so I’m including it in mine. Also, cupcake-flavored food. That’s really the only reason I need.)

Gressingham Duck, Plum Sauce, and Spring Onion flavor

Duck is one of my favorite meats to eat (it’s also one of my favorite animals, horribly enough).

I'm sorry! I still love yooouuu!

I’m sorry! I still love yooouuu!

Add in some plum sauce, spring onion, and noodles, and you’ve got the makings of a great meal. This snack version (minus the noodles) doesn’t sound too bad either.

Smoked Paprika, Porcini, and Garlic Butter flavor

Even the person who did the Buzzfeed post had to admit these sound pretty dang delicious. If this is what pretension tastes like, I can’t say I mind too much.

What I do mind, however, is this:

I don’t like mince pie, and I doubt I’d like it any better in crisp-form.

giphy-2

Have you tried any of the crisps on Buzzfeed’s list? Which sound tastiest to you? Are there any others I should keep an eye out for?

Let me know!

Later, y’all πŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “Treat Yoself: Uppity Crisps

Leave a Reply

