Welcome baaaackkk…

Please read the title to the tune of the “Welcome Back, Kotter” theme.

My mother is gone and now my life has no meaning.

OK, it’s not quite that bad, but I do miss her. We had a great time together and I’m very glad she came to visit. I’ll break up the visit over a number of posts so as not to drown your brain too hard in the doings of strangers. I won’t post pictures or go too deeply into detail about things I’ve already done and posted about…like the first thing we did: eat at Shackfuyu.

Mom LOVED it. She had a Ringo Starr cocktail and I sated myself with a pint of Asahi (best beer I’ve EVER had). For eats, we had a bowl of the Korean fried wings, some edamame, the potatoes with curry sauce, and the okonomiyaki-style prawn toast (which was mom’s favorite). I also had the beef picanha. And you know we had to end the evening with a serving of french toast and green tea ice cream. The only misstep that night was ordering only ONE plate of french toast (which was later remedied when we returned to Shackfuyu on a different day and I had my first celebrity sighting in London — but that’s for a later post).

The next day, we went to Sweet Thursday (which I learned about from a post Jaime did a while back). It was delicious. We had the Salsiccia pizza: Fennel sausage, broccoli, chilies, cream, mozzarella and caramelized onion.Β  We also had one of the most delicious white wines I’ve ever tasted…but I can’t remember the name of it :/ I believe it was African. In any case, it was good.

20150507_131627
20150507_131700
20150507_131814

Mmmmm...

Mmmmm…

Mixed leaf salad.

Mixed leaf salad.

An excerpt from Sweet Thursday by John Steinbeck :)

An excerpt from Sweet Thursday by John Steinbeck πŸ™‚

We had sooooo much stuff planned that naturally some of it fell by the wayside. One thing that could not be left out was a trip to Chin Chin Labs. CCL makes nitrogen ice cream. It’s tasty and creamy and GOBUYITNOWWWW. I’d already had it before, but I wanted mom to try it while she was here. They have a few unchanging flavors on their very small menu, but every few weeks they rotate a couple of new flavor combinations into their roster. During our visit, Rhubarb Ripple Cheesecake was on the menu, and we couldn’t say no to that now could we?

20150507_154103

We also did a bit of walking around Camden before heading over to Alexandra Palace.

20150507_152013
20150507_152110
20150507_171042

I don’t have any pictures of Alexandra Palace, though my mother took plenty. I go there so often that I kept my phone in my purse after snapping that first shot of mom walking underneath the bridge in the park.

It was a lovely first couple of days πŸ™‚

More to come!

6 thoughts on “Welcome baaaackkk…

  1. Aw that’s lovely! I absolutely loved it when my mom came to visit while I was doing my degree abroad! It looks like you guys made the most of it – and ate all of London πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

