Poetry Pit Stop #4 and The Ruling Class

Anchor Down*
Does your hi mean hello?
Or are you trying to hint that you’re above me,
beyond and away,
and I could never satisfy
such a soaring personality?
Come back to me.
Come down and slip
your ankle through this lasso loop;
Healthy humans live on Earth.
Not in castles made of clouds,
munching ozone layer cake,
slurping rain drops as they form;
Jewels of dew
dotting cotton.
Make your nest here
in my arms.
I will crystallize your wildest dreams.
Make your furthest,
waving fantasy
more real than you can stand.

by: the ever-in-the-clouds so-and-so, Gianni
*(I like this title better)

After a fantabulous meal at Shackfuyu (please go there and order ALL of the food) and a quick stroll last Friday, I saw The Ruling Class, written by Peter Barnes and starring James McAvoy.
20150328_160419

USDA beef picanha with kimchee tare butter.

USDA beef picanha with kimchee tare butter.

Korean fried wings.

Korean fried wings.

Fried potatoes with curry sauce. I also had the okonomiyaki-style prawn toast, and the french toast with green tea ice cream for dessert. OMNOMNOM.

Fried potatoes with curry sauce. I also had the okonomiyaki-style prawn toast, and the french toast with green tea ice cream for dessert. OMNOMNOM.

Hey there, London Eye!

Hey there, London Eye!

20150328_182651

The play was great, and not at all what I was expecting. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect (I just saw James McAvoy and trusted that it would be good). After the death of the 13th Earl of Gurney, the earldom and the old man’s estate are passed on to his only son, Jack, who happens to be a paranoid schizophrenic. As Jack’s uncle plots to take over the estate and have Jack permanently committed, the doctor under whose care Jack has been for the past seven years tries to cure him of his condition once and for all. Of course the play is about class and the prejudices held by members of differing echelons. However, it’s also about what is considered “normal”Β  according to societal standards and ultimately makes the point that, as long as you know how to play the game and do what is acceptable in front of the right people, what may be actual insanity is allowed to pass for mere eccentricity if you’re high up enough in the food chain. And as long as your behavior doesn’t tread on the toes of anyone important, you can do whatever you want. It’s an engaging story, and way more intense than I thought it would be. A nice surprise.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the theatre itself. The play is on at Trafalgar Studios. This is probably my favorite theatre venue I’ve been to so far. There isn’t a bad seat in the house. It’s one large room with stadium seating. Every chair faces the stage except for some box seats on either side of the seating area. The floor of the stage isn’t raised, but extends directly into the audience. The people in the first row were practically in the play. It has a very intimate feel, and it’s super easy to hear the dialogue even several rows up (as I was). I’ll definitely be back to see other productions.

I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend, and that the week ahead rocks your socks off πŸ™‚

Later!

8 thoughts on “Poetry Pit Stop #4 and The Ruling Class

  1. There go the Korean Fried Wings! So happy that you had a good time at Shackfuyu πŸ™‚
    PS – I love the space at Trafalgar Studios too. So refreshing after spending too much time in some of those cramped West End theatres from yesteryear.

    Like

    • Trafalgar Studios was definitely a breath of fresh air! Being squeezed into a corner where your best view is of the Italy-shaped birthmark on the back of some guy’s head isn’t the ideal theatre experience by a long shot.
      I literally forgot about my beef (and my beer!) while those sides were in front of me. Everything was ridiculously good, including the service. Can’t wait to go back πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

