Living to blog.

Last Friday, I took a bus from the Manor House tube station to Camden Street. I sat on top. It was a nice view…

20150320_150233
20150320_150706

From there, I headed to Regent’s Park on foot.

20150320_15290420150320_154904
20150320_155338
20150320_155516

And to the top of Primrose Hill.

20150320_160115
20150320_160104

After that, I went to Covent Garden to check out Union Jacks, one of Jamie Oliver’s restaurant.

20150103_143534
20150103_143607
20150320_171354

I had the “Squashed” pizza. Roast butternut squash, braised greens, sage, and Spenwood cheese. Deeeeelicious.

20150320_174059

Oooh, a paper straw :)

Yay for paper straws 🙂

I realized after all this (and a Thursday spent searching for baked goods to blog about)…

Caramel Pretzel Shortbread from Crumbs & Doilies

Caramel Pretzel Shortbread from Crumbs & Doilies!

that everything I do, I do with blogging in mind. I check out the buildings I pass and the food I eat for the best possible angle to photograph. I choose things to do, not (only) because I find them interesting, but because I think they’d be good to write about.

Blogging is a challenge  — at least for me — because it’s not just you reading what you’ve written. Your posts have to be entertaining, original, and if you can manage it, exciting. Six months in, and I’m still adjusting to life in England. I’ve heard from a number of people that it can take a whiiiiile to find your feet. And I’ve moved around a lot anyway, so the assimilation process is familiar territory. I’m happy to be here, and I’m really stoked about the progress I’ve made so far on my thesis. But if I’m being totally honest, living in another country can be confusing, frustrating, and lonely. When those particular feelings hit, blogging becomes an even bigger challenge for me. I want to get out there and do every amazing thing England has to offer (and there are LOTS of those things!), but there’s also daily life to get on with, and unfortunately that’s not always as mind-blowingly wonderful as I’d like.

But I don’t want to leave y’all hanging 🙂 Which is why I try to find things that are worth blogging about. But a question for all you bloggers out there: Do you ever feel like you’re living for your blog? As in, doing things just so you can blog about it later? In fact, I know there are people out there who don’t even blog, but feel the need to do exciting things for the sake of other social media audiences (Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, etc.). Because we want everyone to know that we aren’t lazy, that we’re not taking life for granted.

On the one hand, living with your blog in mind is great because it gets you thinking about what there is to do in your city. You learn more and, therefore, you get out there and do more. On the other hand, it can sometimes feel forced. And whenever I am genuinely having fun, I don’t always remember to photograph it :/

Some folks take to certain things like fish to water. I’m dog-paddling at the moment and barely getting by, but I’ve only just begun. Fingers crossed, I’ll find my sea/blog/life legs soon 🙂

Happy Monday!

15 thoughts on “Living to blog.

  1. I can totally understand! On the bright side blogging does make you want to try different things but it can be so demanding. That’s why I try to just write about what I love, and stuff I think my mom would want to know (because I live abroad haha). Just keep going, it’s so much fun 🙂

    Like

  2. It makes me smile to know you are experiencing life abroad with so much passion. Day to day challenges befall us all but what better place to be challenged than the one you have dreamed of living in for so long. Enjoy and keep blogging for yourself and your biggest fan. ❤️

    Like

  3. love this. for me, i feel like this too, but i live in kentucky, so it’s not exciting and there isn’t much to ‘do’ when ‘real life’ isn’t happening, you know? it’s just the boring, mundane stuff. i wish i lived somewhere exciting so real life went on and occasionally i could travel or do something awesome. lol. sometimes i think about blogging when i’m doing stuff, other times i forget to take photos and everything, so maybe half half 😉

    Like

    • The sad thing about living in an “exciting” place is when you’re too poor to take advantage of all the excitement, hahaha (which is part of that “real life” biz). I guess the remedy is to write about what you love, like Isabel said up there ^, which is what you seem to do! You always have fun posts to read without the “excitement” of living in a huge city. And mixing it up probably helps, too. A bit of travel, a bit of “Oh look what I did today, this was so much fun,” and a bit of what you’d want to talk about no matter where you are 🙂

      Like

  4. So with me, I just remember why I started my blog in the first place…..and that was to keep my family updated on our life. I had gotten rid of my Facebook before the move over and I’m glad I did. Facebook seems so silly to me now! I had gotten to the point of wanting to live for status updates you know? And it’s nice to be able to write more than just a few words for an update. Although I still do love Instagram 🙂 But yeah, just focus on why you started and don’t worry about being entertaining! Do you 🙂 And btw, worlds end is such a cool pub! loved it there!

    Like

  5. Very interesting! You turned a ‘a day in the life of’ into a very interesting question about blogging! I think I don’t live to blog – but blogging has definitely changed my perspective of things – it’s like I want to take more in, make sure I know details and take photos and record the magical moments of my life to share them, it’s making me want to take more adventures too! 🙂

    Like

  6. You’ll get there! Don’t worry – it takes everyone really widely varying amounts of time, I think! And you seem to really love it here which always helps the adjustment. As a random sidenote that caramel pretzel shortbread looks to die for! x

    Like

  7. Not quite sure how I managed to miss this post for so long… Yes, I do often feel as though I live to blog, I have a list of possible topics in case I run out of things to write about… And yet, as writers (and we are, aren’t we?) it’s just another medium.

    Like

    • The fact that it’s just another place to write is what eventually makes the task so daunting for me, bc I think to myself “I’m already a writer. Shouldn’t this be easier?” But blogging, like every form writing takes, has it’s unique challenges. Sometimes I find myself getting buried under them when I should just meet them. Because we’re writers! We can handle it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

