Curiouser and Curiouser…

Last night I FINALLY saw the stage production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time. I actually bought my ticket waaaay back at the end of October to see it on November 19th, but I ended up exchanging my ticket twice because other events kept coming up. Now I’ve taken the plunge, and it was well worth it.

But let’s backtrack.

After arriving in London and picking my ticket up from the box office, I had about 4 hours before the show to wander around. I’d meant to find this epic store called Playlounge that sells vinyl toys designed by artists (because I collect them). But after walking to where the store should have been and peering around corners like a weirdo, I started to wonder if this place was like the Leaky Cauldron and only visible to a chosen few. I googled the store again on my phone and discovered that *WOMPWOMP* it had closed for good a while back. During my confused stroll, I came across a ramen restaurant that looked amazing. Y’all. I’ve been on a London ramen mission since before I moved to England, and it came to an end at Shoryu.

20141204_173817

Shoryu uses a Hakata tonkotsu ramen recipe created by their executive chef specifically for the restaurant. They have 13 different ramen dishes to choose from. I chose the Dracula ramen, which is loaded down with garlic and delicious. But seriously, SO much garlic. As in I could still taste garlic the next day. After having brushed my teeth and tongue twice since eating at the restaurant. But hey… I don’t have anyone I’m worried about scaring away with garlic breath, so it was no problem for me πŸ˜€

I ordered the Sweet Melon Jasmine Tea. Yummm...

I ordered the Sweet Melon Jasmine Tea with my food. Yummm…

Look at how ORANGE that egg yolk is. I die.

Look at how orange that egg yolk is! I die.

Nigori sake

Nigori sake

The Carnaby Street Shoryu is tucked away inside an intimate shopping square called Kingly Court. It was, of course, all lit up for Christmas πŸ™‚
20141204_173753
20141204_173800

After I stopped crying maniacal tears of joy over how gorgeous the lights were, I ventured onto Carnaby Street to lose my mind some more.
20141204_173915
20141204_173909
I dipped in and out of nearly every shop, including a shoe place that made my head spin.

20141204_182057

Yes, the heel of that shoe is indeed shaped like Santa Claus.

I bought a cookie from Ben’s and reveled in how gooey the melted chocolate inside my Triple Chocolate Chunk cookie was. There’s no cookie picture; I almost bit the shopkeeper trying to get it into my mouth.

It was getting near time for me to head back to the Gielgud Theatre, so I walked up Regent Street to soak in the splendor of the faerie lights and the feeling of being in my favorite city.
20141204_182926
20141204_183216

Couldn't resist popping into Hamley's :)

I couldn’t resist popping into Hamley’s πŸ™‚

20141204_184255

Eventually I made it.

20141204_162800
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is based on a novel of the same name by Mark Haddon. It follows a teenaged boy named Christopher who has Asperger Syndrome. One of the (many) unique and wonderful things about this story is that it’s told in the first person voice of someone with AS. The book you are reading is supposed to be an account written by Christopher of the events surrounding the murder of his neighbor’s dog. Through Christopher’s eyes, it becomes clear how difficult it can be to navigate life with AS. Especially when there’s the added difficulty of Christopher not wanting to be touched by anyone, ever. Not even his own parents. Christopher is highly intelligent and a whiz at mathematics. He is also able to remember and notice things in excruciating detail (which can lead to information overload in busy places), and unable to lie. Collecting hard facts is a comfort to him; communicating with people, however, is extremely challenging because it involves the use of euphemisms and a great deal of nuance. What isn’t said is just as important as — and sometimes more important than — what is said, and this is something Christopher struggles on a daily basis to understand.

This is one of my favorite books, and I was wary of a stage production. I worried about how the character and his condition would be portrayed. I worried that he wouldn’t be taken seriously. Turns out I had nothing to stress about. This production, adapted by Simon Stephens, was done so well. The tech used in this show is, in itself, dead impressive. At first glance, the set looks like the inside of a Rubik’s cube in black and white. Every surface, the floor included, is a grid. What the actors and crew manage to do with this space is just awesome. ** I sat in the Grand Circle which gave me the PERFECT vantage point because there are a lot of visual things happening on the floor as well as on the walls. Grab a seat high up if you can! **

I definitely recommend checking out The Curious Incident onstage AND on the page.

Have a lovely weekend, everyone! Happy December πŸ™‚

20141204_161804

10 thoughts on “Curiouser and Curiouser…

Leave a Reply

