If you’re happy and you know it

I may not have a visa yet, but thanks to awesome friends, family, and general feelings of happy, I feel better prepared to peace out to another continent πŸ™‚

List of happy-making things, GO!

1) My munchkins have temporary housing!

You can see where Neal got shaved for neutering, haha.

You can see where Neal got shaved for neutering, haha.

One of my oldest and dearest friends has agreed to let my crazy cat babies stay with her during my first school term. They were unhappy (and scared :/ ) when I first dropped them off at her place, but they’re being more social with her now that they’ve gotten used to being there. I REALLY didn’t want to have to fly them to yet another brand new place just to pay a buttload for them to live in what is essentially a closet for 3-4 months. So now, thanks to the generosity of a great friend, I can enjoy my first term knowing my furries are comfortable, and look for a flat the three of us can live in together πŸ™‚

2) Electric Run 2014

Those discolored smudges on our faces are paint, hahaha.

Those discolored smudges on our faces are paint, hahaha.

Lately, my mom’s gotten into running. She’s been training for her first 5k for about 2 months, and ran it this past Saturday night. It’s called the Electric Run and for good reason. It takes place at night, and all the runners/walkers wear hats, earrings, bracelets, etc. made out of glow sticks, fluorescent paint all over their bodies, neon clothing, retina-sizzling wigs, and light-up tutus & legwarmers (not necessarily all those things at once, but some people do walk in looking like a laser factory — and it is epic). The money Charlotte participants paid to register this year will go toward supporting Special Olympics North Carolina. Even though I hadn’t been training, I wanted to do it, too, and I’m so glad I did because we had a great time! There was electronic music playing and crazy-colored blow-up decorations everywhere, like giant gummy bears, ice-cream cones, neon umbrellas, and jellyfish. Afterwards, we totally ruined the healthiness of being active by eating a large slice of pizza each and drinking beer πŸ˜€ There was a stage set up, and a DJ played more crazy-loud dubstep. Everyone including us was glowing and dancing and having fun. I’m glad we got to do this together before I leave!

3) I realized I have room for more books!

giphy

I own more books than anything else. I know I won’t need more than one suitcase for clothes because right before my last big move across the country, I gave a lot of them away. So, hooray for not having to pay for an extra bag at the airport! Because my clothes will/should all be able to fit into one bag, I can use my carry on and “one personal item” (e.g. purse/backpack) to hold a few more books than I initially thought I’d have room for. Woot! I’ll have the rest of my tomes shipped to me when I move into an actual flat.

4) Tier 4 realness.

giphy-1

I haven’t made my visa application yet, but I should have everything I need to do it (and be able to purchase my flight) by the end of the week! As soon as I book my flight, I can reserve a spot in the Orientation program. *Double plus bonus*: the cost of my intended flight hasn’t increased!

5) Watching Saved!

giphy

This is one of my favorite movies of all time…which I incidentally left off that list of favorite things I posted a while back. Anyhoo! If you haven’t seen this movie, check it out. It’s guaranteed (OK not really, but probably) to bring on some high school nostalgia. It’ll especially resonate with anyone who grew up in an uber Christian household. Also, Eva Amurri and Macaulay Culkin are hilarious and adorable in it.

I still have to make my two largest and most important purchases, but some major burdens have been lifted. I’m down to weeks instead of months. Kinda scary… but bring it on!

6 thoughts on “If you’re happy and you know it

Leave a Reply

